Atom String Quartet
PL Warszawa – Jazz / Jazz
Atom String Quartet


Live Setup

Cover band
Fan Base
Trends are built for last 28 days
Show details
Fan Locations
Gig History
No gigs added
Label / Release Type Year
Edit-artist-releases-release-placeholder AtomSHERE Album 2015
Edit-artist-releases-release-placeholder Places Album 2012
Edit-artist-releases-release-placeholder Fade In Album 2011
No Agency
No Management
Press Text
Atom String Quartet is the leading Polish jazz group and one of the most interesting string quartets of the world.

“Since these four the most lovable violin players, with the energy adequate to the band’s name” (Jan “Ptaszyn” Wróblewski) received the Grand Prix of the 13th Bielska Zadymka Jazz Festival, they constantly play at the greatest European music festivals, e.g. Berliner Jazztage, Jazz Baltica, Festival Veranos de la Villa Madrid, Gaume Jazz Festival, Jazz Jamboree, Ethno Jazz Festival or Solidarity of Arts.
In 2011 their record “Fade In” received the Polish phonographic industry award “Fryderyk”, in the category of Jazz Debut of the Year. The second album “Places” published in 2012 by Kayax was awarded “Fryderyk” for Jazz Album of the Year. Moreover, Atom String Quartet was given the Grand Prix of the Music Lovers’ Society in New Hope category and special award – “Złote Gęśle” of Folk Music Competition of the Polish Radio New Tradition.
The quartet has cooperated with such artists as Bobby McFerrin, Gil Goldstein, Paolo Fresu, Wolfgang Haffner, Christian von Kaphengst, Rupert Stamm, Mathias Haus, Vladislav “Adzik” Sendecki, Leszek Możdżer, Lars Danielsson, Zohar Fresco, Jerzy Maksymiuk, André Ochodlo, Urszula Dudziak, Natalia Kukulska, Marek Moś, Kayah, Aga Zaryan, Janusz Olejniczak, Krzesimir Dębski, Adam Sztaba, Grzech Piotrowski, Krzysztof Herdzin, Józef Skrzek, and such bands as AUKSO Chamber Orchestra, Elbląg Chamber Orchestra, Grzech Piotrowski World Orchestra, Sinfonia Viva and Sebastian Karpiel-Bułecka Highlanders Band and Motion Trio.
In September 2015 the quartet’s third album AtomSPHERE was released by Kayax. It contains author’s compositions of all band musicians, and also arrangements of Witold Lustosławski and Zbigniew Seifert pieces.
Atom String Quartet is created by two violinists: Dawid Lubowicz and Mateusz Smoczyński, a violist – Michał Zaborski and cellist – Krzysztof Lenczowski.